Walker County DWI Attorney

(936) 427-4077

Case Results
Contact Douglas W. Atkinson Today!
DWI Defense Practice Areas
DWI
ALR Hearings
Breath and Blood Tests
DPS Hearings
DWI Defenses
Expunction
Frequently Asked Questions
DWI Resources
DWI with Injury
Felony DWI
Field Sobriety Tests
Multiple DWI Offenses
Nondisclosure
Occupational Driver's Licenses
Out of State DWI
Underage DWI
Criminal Defense
Contact Us
NAME:
EMAIL:
PHONE:
--
CLIENT:
TELL US ABOUT YOUR CASE:
Douglas Wayne AtkinsonClients’ ChoiceAward 2017 10.0Douglas Wayne Atkinson

936.427.4077

322 Metcalf Street, Conroe, TX 77301
Click here to see our firm in the news.
Watch our videos.
Conroe Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer Why Hire Doug Atkinson Why Hire Doug Atkinson Fees & Payments Case Results Contact Us

Walker County DWI Defense Attorney

About the Department of Public Safety Hearing

As an experienced DWI attorney, Douglas W. Atkinson offers aggressive representation for clients at their Department of Public Safety (DPS) hearings. It is important to consult an attorney and schedule this hearing as soon as possible, as the failure to schedule your DPS hearing within 15 days will result in the suspension of your driver’s license – regardless of whether you are actually found guilty of driving while intoxicated.

After a DWI arrest in Walker County, Texas, a driver has 15 days to schedule a hearing with the Department of Public Safety (DPS). This hearing, referred to as a DPS hearing or ALR hearing is held regarding the suspension of the arrestee’s driving privileges. At the hearing, the arrestee’s driver’s license will be suspended if it is proven by a preponderance of evidence (meaning it is “more than likely” to be true) that:

  • There was probable cause for the officer to make an arrest for DWI
  • The defendant was driving the car at the time
  • The driver was asked to give a breath or blood test and was notified of the consequences of refusing this test
  • The driver refused to take the breath test or blood test, or the driver failed this test (had a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or greater)

DPS Hearings in Walker County

A DPS hearing is an administrative hearing which is held to determine whether a driver failed chemical tests or refused these tests. For a first DWI offense, driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or greater, a driver may have his/her license suspended for 90 days. For a first refusal of a breath test or blood test, the driver may have his/her license suspended for 180 days. License suspension will last longer for a second DWI offense, third DWI offense or fourth DWI offense. The same applies for a second, third or subsequent refusal of chemical testing.

DPS hearing lawyer Doug Atkinson is familiar with defending clients at their driver’s license suspension hearings in Walker County. His experience in this area and the extensive preparation he undergoes in readying a case for the hearing have enabled him to help numerous clients.

Douglas W. Atkinson, Attorney at Law offers legal representation to clients facing DWI charges throughout all of Walker County, including Dodge, New Waverly, Riverside and Huntsville. Your initial consultation is free, and he will use this consultation as an opportunity to discuss your charges with you and help you understand how he can help.

Contact a DPS hearing attorney as soon as possible after you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated in Walker County!

Douglas W. Atkinson - Walker County DWI Lawyer
Located at 322 Metcalf Street Conroe, TX 77301. View Map
Phone: (936) 427-4077
Website: